Denmark – Update on the suspension of acceptance of mails

30 März, 2020

The designated operator of Denmark, Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark), asks us to update other Union member countries and their designated operators as to its ability to send mail (letter-post, parcel-post and EMS items), and to provide information on measures implemented to prevent the transmission of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). 

As of 27 March 2020, Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark) is able to send mail (letter-post, parcel-post and EMS items) only to countries within the European Union, with the exception of Cyprus and Malta. It is also able to send mail to Canada, Hong Kong (China), Iceland, Iran (Islamic Rep.), Japan, Korea (Rep.), Liechtenstein, Norway, Qatar, Russian Federation, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America and Viet Nam.


The above list is subject to change on a daily basis. Please visit for up-to-date information.

Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark) is currently unable to send mail (letter-post, parcel-post and EMS items) to Union member countries not listed above and/or on the regularly updated list available on the website indicated above, owing to a lack of transport capacity. Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark) is therefore declaring a situation of force majeure and ceasing, with immediate effect, to accept letter-post, parcel-post and EMS items destined for all concerned Union member countries, until sufficient transport capacity becomes available.

Furthermore, as a measure to limit the transmission of the COVID-19 virus, Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark) has suspended signature on delivery for inbound items. Delivery will be conducted via methods that limit human contact, with immediate effect.

Post Danmark (PostNord Denmark) thanks all Union member countries and their designated operators for their understanding. It will update them via EmIS once the situation has returned to normal.